Sleep

Standard

Similarly to many other internet dwellers I find myself awake at 3am again, and again, and again. It’s just a routine habit I find myself slipping into at every opportunity I get. Even if I’ve been up since 6am I’m able to stay awake with ease until 4am the next day, this as you can imagine has its disadvantages.

Being nocturnal for me is great, it gives me time to concentrate on projects and work, or even just relax on Tumblr or catch up on TV without being disturbed. Sitting out on my shed roof at night with my iPad is one of my favourite things to do, living in a suburban area is so quiet at night with only a few cars passing means that you have ample opportunity to just think, and relax while everyone else is asleep. However thinking more often than not leads to overthinking, falling into a state of “why the fuck am I here?” and “what is the meaning of life?” means that alongside many others find ourselves stuck in what seems to be a permanent, or at least semi-permanent state of existential crisis.

Globalisation has allowed everybody to connect with everyone all over the world, watching shows from different countries and of course the explosion of social media (timezones) means that sleep just isn’t as appealing to me as staying up and watching anime on Netflix (using the all important proxy to allow access to the American site). I’m able to connect with anyone, anywhere, just not irl.

In an ideal world we’d never have to sleep, there could just be a drink, or tablet that would allow anyone to stay awake for days on end without crashing.

I’m not really sure what my main aims of this post was, I’ve not really drawn any conclusions apart from the fact that I dislike sleep, it just takes away a huge chunk of time that would be spent doing anything else, but you’re just stuck sleeping, not actually contributing to anything. Being awake at night is one of my favourite things, it’s just nice.  It might just be a teenager thing that I’ll grow out of when I’m in my thirties or I’ll carry on being nocturnal and hating the daylight.

 

Leave a Reply

